Whether you're looking for an image to use in an academic paper, a web site, or another type of project, the options are almost limitless! Quality varies, however, and many images you find online (particularly at stock photo web sites) are under copyright. If you're looking for free images you can use legally, take a look at the sources here.
One of the simplest ways to find images is through Google Image Search. Images in that result list are most often under copyright. Many are for sale through stock photo companies. There is a tool, however, for finding images with Creative Commons licenses. These can be used without paying the image creator (though restrictions and requirements may apply. Understand the terms of use for specific Creative Commons licenses before using them!).
After performing a Google Images search, click the Tools button that appears under your search bar.
The tools menu will reveal has a Usage Rights section that includes the option to filter for Creative Commons licensed images.
You can also select other search criteria here. Size may be important if you're looking for images that will work in printed materials (select Large for best results for print).
There are many sites that provide high quality, high resolution images that you can use in your projects without violating copyright laws. Here are some of the best, with a focus on those that are particularly good for religious imagery.
| Source | Special Features | |
|---|---|---|
 |
Art in the Christian Tradition database A freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. Includes searches by keyword, scripture reference, and persons as subjects. From the Vanderbilt Divinity Library |
Includes searches by keyword, scripture reference, and persons as subjects. |
 |
Art Institute of Chicago (Christianity) Thousands of artworks in the museum’s collection—from renowned Art Institute icons to lesser-known works from every corner of the globe. |
Public domain image search available; educational resources available for many works. |
 |
ARTSTOR: Open Access public collection ~1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, plus hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums. Artstor is a part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization helping the academic community use digital technologies to preserve the scholarly record and to advance research and teaching in sustainable ways. |
Sophisticated advanced search tools, including searches by geography, date, culture, style, and technique. |
 |
In February 2017, The Met introduced its Open Access Initiative which makes all images of public-domain artworks and basic data on all accessioned works in its collection available for unrestricted use under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). Now anyone can download, share, and remix images and data about artworks in The Met collection. Includes over 492,000 images of public-domain artworks, available for free and unrestricted use.
|
Very large collection with very high quality photos of art from every period. |
|
|
Pitts Theology Library Digital Image Archive The Digital Image Archive (DIA) presents more than 65,000 images of biblical illustrations, portraits of religious leaders, printers' devices, engravings of church buildings, and other theological topics. They are available for teaching, research, and other non-commercial purposes. |
Includes scripture reference search by book and chapter. |
|
|
Access to more than 4.9 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. |
Not particularly strong in religious imagery, but this large and high quality collection is worth noting! |
|
|
"The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. Why? To inspire and inform fresh perspectives and open conversations about our history and culture. To share and enjoy our rich cultural heritage. To use it to create new things. We give you access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more." |
Over 31 million images from museums throughout Europe. Includes a "Can I Use This?" filter to select images that can be used without condition. |
 |
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog Includes some specialized -- and fascinating -- collections, like historical photos of Jerusalem and Palestine and images of stained glass windows. |
Particularly strong for historical photographs |
|
|
"Free high resolution digital stock photographs and reference images for either corporate or public use. The purpose of this site is to provide free image reference material for illustrators, comic book artist, designers, teachers and all creative pursuits." |
Contemporary stock photos, without the fees. Commercial use is okay! |
|
|
"The first Catholic Digital Resource Library, featuring high quality professional media content that captures the beauty of God. Our mission is to support evangelization by offering high-quality digital resources that reveal the Beauty of God and our faith." High resolution, contemporary images. Includes both free and "Pro" photos, but the latter are clearly marked.
|
.. Also includes a large section of public domain religious art, categorized by artist. |
 |
"PICRYL is a public domain search & similarity engine. Picryl is a media source you can use to find images, documents, and references. Find millions of public domain files from hundreds of sources: all in one place. Discover collections of historical moments and public figures. Download high-resolution copyright-free images, order high-quality prints, and merchandise. Use AI neural networks to find and enhance hidden gems to use in the creation of artworks, presentations, HD videos, and large prints." Note: not a web site for images, but a powerful search engine for finding public domain images. |
Low resolution images can be downloaded without cost. Higher resolution images have a cost if accessed on this site, but the image sources are noted (so users can find the higher resolution versions from the original site) |
